Hello…I’m Aspie…

Standard

I want to talk to you; I really do. I want to join in, play on the beach, like everyone else.

I don’t know what I look like to you. What should I look like? Is this OK? Do I look “normal?”

I'm Aspie

 

I want to enjoy myself – I just don’t really know how…

.

.

Next time someone looks away when you are speaking to them, doesn’t make eye contact, before you think “rude,”  STOP; ask yourself why. Why does he look away?

Before you again say to a child “look at me” pointing at your eyes, STOP and ask yourself if he really can look at you. If it were easy, he would make eye contact.

People with “Higher Functioning Autism” or Aspergers  (I call them Aspies) are real people inside that mask you see. Some are brash or aggressive, others pompous; some overly polite, in an attempt to negotiate their way around a world they often don’t understand…can’t fit into.

There are as many different kinds of “Aspies” out there as there are “Higher Functioning Autistics” so I can’t list manifestations…but being married into a family of them, I know how difficult their lives can be.

Lisa, (in my novel, Silk Threads) is an Aspie. It was hard to describe her, because she doesn’t say much, hardly moves her body to express herself…I used her diaries to show that she was a very different person hidden behind her rather unattractive exterior.

I won’t say any more about Aspies, or this post will become boring – there is plenty of information on the net, or better still, read my novel, Silk Threads…its much more fun than wikipedia!

You can buy Silk Threads for kindle on Amazon.com here: (P.S. – PLEEEZ post a review!)

Amazon UK here:

Or if you are in Canada…here:

 

The unabridged version of Silk Threads is available on Smashwords for FREE…please download a copy  here:

Silk Threads

And a copy of Jack and Jill here (also free)

Jack and Jill a short story

Please leave a comment on Smashwords

8 responses »

  1. I have a few friends with it and i must say it did take a bit of getting used to…. BUT we are all different and that is where we can accept everyone for what they are and not judge “folks” by their outside show…

    • Easier said than done though. I told a lady about a client of mine – explained how she sits on her phone and is perfectly confident in that medium – but the lady insisted my client was just rude – didn’t try enough. This lady had previously told me that she was hopeless at directions -always getting lost. So I asked her if she would ever get better at it – obviously she said she wouldn’t – so I pointed out that neither would my client.
      I’m not sure if the analogy got through. Its acceptable to have a terrible sense of direction, but “manners” Oh no…cant have someone who keeps their head down – prefers to text, even if she is in the same room…

      • I like dogs but there is more to your comment than this old fool can work out. It must be terrible but thankfully there are people like you fighting for them.

      • Lisa, in Silk Threads is an Aspie. My family is full of them, and yes, it’s a difficult life. Luckily, they are classified as Higher Functioning Autistics and mostly integrate with society – better in some areas than others.
        I wrote a novel about an Aspie rather than a boring dissertation because I thought I may get to more people that way! So yes – there is more to the post than dogs!

    • I’ll definitely have a look at your blog . Working with people with aspergers I find it helps if I can show them that there are plenty of people out there like themselves . And please ready book !

Leave a Reply

