You live and learn…

Standard

Last week I noticed a gratifying spike in visits to my site. I was SOooo pleased. At last, I was famous and everyone would soon be clamouring to buy my books.


I’ve only just learned how to go to the ‘stats’ page to see which pages are the most ‘viewed.’ The post attracting all this attention was the one entitled, “Flies, Twinks, Elephants….” not my best effort, just a spontaneous ditty I thought up, in between batting annoying flies.
I was surprised so many people were interested in cats. I’ve always thought I belong to a select group of people who love them. I got that warm fuzzy, feeling, gratified that a stack of people out there are also put to sleep by a cat purring away. I love that little diesel engine….love to stroke their silky coats, or watch them hopelessly stalk a bird.
I named our little orphan Twinks, cos she has four little white feet and with her black body, looked like twinkle toes…dancing across the floor. Her mum, Mrs Raven was killed, probably by a Mozambican Spitting Cobra along with Twink’s two (tabby) siblings. I usually pick the tabbies – I love them. Normally, I wouldn’t have chosen Twinks…after Scar, I swore I wouldn’t have a (personal) cat again.

Twinks is the sweetest thing…she play fights, climbs the curtains and very gratifying for me…thinks she is a human. She wants to bath with me, sleep with me, come in the car with me…

The search terms are listed on WordPress. I found the following:
Twinks, black, Zimbabwe
Twinks, black
Twinks
People were searching on my kitty??? Even warmer, fuzzier feelings…

These are some pics of my Twinks….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I noticed that several of the search engines originated in countries like Sweden, Germany…Only a few in Zimbabwe. Curious, I searched on “Twinks”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twink_(gay_slang)
Oops….not my kitty cat! I guess the single Zimboe search was the CIO: gayness is banned in Zimbabwe!
I’m going to have to go back in my tags and remove “Twinks…”

Pity, cos I got a big kick from all the hits on my blog…it’s a shame none of them saw the adverts for my book…no twinks in there unfortunately. Looks like I used the wrong subject material!

You can find A Silken Thread on Amazon here

A Pale here:

I still have Silk Threads on Smashwords here:
Jack and Jill here:
They are also available on Sony, Apple, Barnes and Noble, Diesel etc etc

About frankiekay

I'm an author from Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. I've written a novel, Silk Threads and a few short stories. Although Frankie is a pen name, she is the me who never grew up, the crazy kid who spoke to animals, talked to the wildflowers and asked awkward questions...I love: music, the silence..., distant horizons. I hate: crowds and spending money

12 responses »

    • I love dogs too…please go to my post about Sasha…Innocent….she was the most beautiful creature…I could write about her forever…we took her to the Scruffs Dog Show at the Trade Fair…bad move. She nearly ate all the cats there and some of the little doggies too…we were asked to take her home….She moved like an athlete and had a chest on her…

  1. nice blog, but when I try to ‘like’ I must enter my gmail add and PASSWORD!! …..will not share my password, but did share the blog on my fb page xx

    • I absolutely agree about the password – strange though cos I don’t have to put in my password and I *like* lots of sites???Maybe cos I am a blogger??But please post your opinions and also please read my book…I am busy cutting it now for Amazon – to produce a less explicit version…

Leave a Reply

