Mum

Standard

I don’t know if you have crows in your part of the world. We do, pied crows. They are black with white fronts and are ubiquitous, (in towns, or near human habitation.)


Our dog Sasha hated them. She used to chase them although she never seemed to notice they flew and she only ran. Also, that she was forced to stop at the gate. Perhaps she thought she had won the battle, because she successfully chased them off her territory. Who knows what went on in Sasha’s head.
Crows are scavengers. Noisy ungainly birds.
We recently did a job at an abattoirOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA – as you can imagine – crow heaven.
Our variety make a characteristic ‘hark, hark, hark,’ noise. A harsh raucous, African noise.
After a long, hot day working, I lay reading my kindle the crow noises blending in with the other, winding-down-from-work, noises.
“Mum. Mum.” A resonating sound. I jerked upright. Any mother will tell you they react to the ‘mum,’ ‘mother,’ ‘mommy,’ ‘mummy,’ word. I have seen six mothers turn their heads at a gathering when a little child walks into a room and says, “Mummy.”
Well I heard, “Mummm.” All amongst the Hark, hark, harks. “Mumm.” Then soon after: “Mumm.” It sounded so real, I almost answered. A lovely ‘mum’ too. A sweet sound, from out of a butt ugly crow!
Only in Gokwe.

About frankiekay

I'm an author from Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. I've written a novel, Silk Threads and a few short stories. Although Frankie is a pen name, she is the me who never grew up, the crazy kid who spoke to animals, talked to the wildflowers and asked awkward questions...I love: music, the silence..., distant horizons. I hate: crowds and spending money

4 responses »

  1. I love crows. But like Sasha, my dogs hate them. Especially when the crows tease the dogs and shout insults at them from the tops of the trees. Every now and they will swoop down tantalisingly close to the ground, cackling like witches as they speed away, just ahead of snapping jaws. I laugh too, the dogs don’t think it’s funny.

    • I missed a magic photo yesterday when I arrived at my gate…a crow eating a tee bone, right next to our gate…I didn’t have my camera with me – he flew away when the dogs ran up to greet me!
      But that “mum” was a strange sound – I could have sworn it learned that word from somewhere. When I was at junior school in Essexvale, we had a one legged one that had been taught to say “hello” We had endless fun with it…thanks for dropping by

Leave a Reply

