Logic

Standard

I’m very stupid, although everyone in the family is so very nice about it. After all, they reason, it’s not easy to be as good at maths as them. Cush kindly tells me, its not necessary when I’m so good at other things..

In Pee’s last year in the UK, she HAD to have a laptop. (She HAD to have a whole load of other things too – surprising this school is for underprivileged types!) So rather than buying her the absolute minimum, we spend the extra mile, and buy her a £450.00 Acer, with a long life battery and a whole load of features. It unfortunately uses Windows, but hey, you cant have everything…
She returns to Africa a year later and decides she needs a desk top. She cant play the games she wants to play on her laptop, and after all, its now a year old.
“OK, Mum” she says with that awfully toff voice of hers. “Its simple. You need a laptop (my old computer ran off diesel,) you just pay me R3500 for this one, and then I can top up a few thou’ from what Ive earned in mah gup yah, and I can get a great gaming computer.”
“Okaaay,” Something seems wrong, but she sounds so confident and she is after all, very good at maths….so she must be right….

Luckily I did the swap and my laptop (three years old now…) is great. I took out the CAPS lock button because I kept pressing it by mistake. Its a great computer and it has an amazing long life battery. I take it everywhere and hardly ever have to stop working because the battery is flat. Pee bought her gaming computer after I sent her the R3500, but Im still sure something was wrong with that whole transaction…something wrong with the logic…

About frankiekay

I'm an author from Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. I've written a novel, Silk Threads and a few short stories. Although Frankie is a pen name, she is the me who never grew up, the crazy kid who spoke to animals, talked to the wildflowers and asked awkward questions...I love: music, the silence..., distant horizons. I hate: crowds and spending money

Leave a Reply

